私募股权投资要点


私募股权和收购基金与风险投资基金的差别何在?

风险投资公司的商业模型与私募股权公司类似,但是两种基金的业务重点不同。风险投资基金的主要投资对象是创业型公司或历史业绩很少或根本没有的年轻公司。私募股权和收购基金则更多关注对拥有价值增长潜力的成熟公司的投资;之后,再通过结构设计、战略管理和运营提升等策略长期提升该等公司的业绩表现。


私募股权基金与对冲基金的差别何在?

在理解私募股权基金时,很重要的一点是要知道所有投资均以改善被投资公司业务,并最终实现长期价值提升为核心。只有在被投资公司取得成功时,私募股权投资者才能取得成功。如果某一私募股权公司投资失败,那么它损失的不仅是自己的钱,也有投资者的钱,这最终必然损害公司未来的资金募集能力。

相反,对冲基金的投资期限普遍较短。作为"资金池",他们通常投资于股票、债券或商品,其目标是使用复杂的交易策略和衍生金融工具实现短期盈利。通常而言,对冲基金的投资期限为数周或数月,而不会出现长达数年的投资。


为什么在私募股权投资的所有权结构中会有债务?

几乎所有公司,无论是上市公司还是非上市公司的资本结构都由股权(股票)和债务(银行贷款、债券等)构成。在寻求收购某一目标公司时,私募股权公司通常也会通过向投资者募集股权(资本)资金和向其他许多渠道(主要为银行)寻求贷款或杠杆作用这两种方式进行融资。


私募股权公司如何改善被投资公司的业绩表现?

在改善被投资公司的业绩表现时,财务创新只是私募股权公司工作内容的一小部分。确保被投资公司价值提升的关键是实现收入的内生性增长。为了进一步提高某一公司的业绩表现,私募股权公司还需要大幅提升被投资公司的运营水平,削减成本,杜绝浪费,加强公司的竞争力,重新进行产品定位,积极开拓新市场空间,以及制定完善的商业战略并付诸实施。


私募股权对被投资公司以及经济、社会的意义何在?

在世界全球化的大背景下,当前私募股权投资活动正蓬勃发展。CVC积极投资于部分全球最知名的公司,成功帮助其实现了长期价值提升,从而也推动了整体经济的发展,创造了财富,鼓励了创新。事实证明私募股权能够通过提高被投资公司的运营效率创造巨大的经济价值。学术研究也表明,整体而言,私募股权投资和杠杆效应对被投资公司的财务业绩和运营效率提升起到了积极的作用;尤其是当资本市场十分脆弱时,私募股权的过渡性资本投资可以弥补被投资公司的重大资金缺口。

对被投资公司的杠杆收购最终将提升生产力,扩大就业,增加工资,并改善公司内部的劳资关系。而由私募股权投资所带来的高额回报也可进一步加强养老基金的实力,从而造福数以百万计的雇员。Preqin的研究显示,2008年,各私募股权基金为全球投资者(资金募集于2007年)带来了1.1万亿美元的净利润。


当私募股权投资期接近结束时将如何处置被投资公司?

投资期结束时,私募股权基金通常通过以下方式退出投资:首次公开发行(IPO)或将被投资公司在相关证券市场上市;挂牌出售,通过并购交易(M&A)将被投资公司出售给某一战略买方;或'二次出售',将被投资公司出售给另一家私募股权公司。

Key Facts about private equity

Find answers to some of the frequently asked questions about the private equity industry.


How do private equity and buy-out funds differ from venture capital funds?

Venture capital firms have similar business models as those found in private equity. However, their focus varies: venture funds largely invest capital in start-up and young companies with little or no track record. Private equity and buy-out funds focus on investing capital in more mature businesses that demonstrate the potential for growth in value and enhancing their performance over a prolonged period through structural, strategic management and operational improvements.


How do private equity funds and hedge funds differ?

A very important point to understand about private equity is that all investments centre on improving the business and ultimately increasing its value over the long-term. Private equity investors succeed only when the companies they own succeed. If a private equity company fails to succeed, it not only loses its own money, but also that of its investors, ultimately damaging its ability to raise future funds.

In contrast, hedge funds typically have a much shorter time horizon. They act as pools of capital that usually invest in stocks, bonds or commodities and aim to capitalise on short-term gains, using complicated trading strategies and derivative financial instruments. Hedge funds usually have holding periods of weeks or months, not years.


Why is debt involved if the ownership structure is referred to as private equity?

Virtually every company, public or private, has a capital structure made up of equity (stock) and debt (bank loans, bonds, etc.). When a private equity firm looks to acquire a company, the financing will comprise the equity (capital) raised from investors as well as loans or 'leverage' from a number of other sources, primarily banks.


How do private equity firms improve company performance?

To succeed in improving the performance of a portfolio company a private equity firm needs to supply a great deal more than just financial creativity. Developing organic revenue growth is key to securing increased value within a company. To further enhance a company's performance it is also crucial to undertake substantial operational improvements, cost and waste reductions, improving the company's competitiveness, product repositioning and ability to enter new markets, as well as the development and execution of a sound business strategy.


How does private equity benefit portfolio companies and the broader economy and society?

In today's globalised world, private equity investment activity is increasing substantially. CVC's success in investing in some of the world's most prominent companies and developing their long-term value has helped to fuel the economy, create wealth and drive innovation. Empirical evidence shows that private equity portfolio companies create economic value by operating more efficiently. Academic studies have shown that private equity investment and leverage has an overall positive impact on the financial performance and efficiency of companies, especially since the transitional capital invested fills a critical gap when capital markets are fragile.

Ultimately, leveraged buy-outs of portfolio companies generate greater productivity, promote employment and salary growth, and have a positive effect on employee relations within the company. Superior returns from private equity investments strengthen pension funds that provide benefits for millions of employees. According to research carried out by Preqin, by 2008, the total net profits distributed to investors worldwide by private equity funds raised throughout 2007 were over US$1.1 trillion.


What happens when private equity-owned companies reach the end of their holding period?

At the end of the holding period, an exit from a portfolio company is usually sought through: an initial public offering (IPO) or flotation of the portfolio company on the stock market; a 'trade sale' of the company to a strategic acquirer through a merger or acquisition (M&A); or a 'secondary sale' to another private equity house.

Related information